Skip to content

How can you Celebrate His Birth?

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

I’m not much of a holiday person. Truth is, through my eyes, people can be especially vain during this time of year. Yes, some feel all warm inside and do random acts of kindness “just because it’s Christmas”. Why not any other time of year? I’m not much of traditions. I like them. A lot. I just don’t have many. I was raised a Jehovah’s Witness and was not allowed to celebrate any of it. Christmas for me is always a time of thinking. What am I really celebrating? Yes, Christ’s birth, but Christians celebrate that all the time. At least I do. Until I became Christian I had a reason to celebrate.

How can I really celebrate Christ? How can I honor him, show him my gratitude for coming to earth and saving me? Where can I find the most valuable gift I can give him? What makes this time special in my life?

I find answers in Philippians 2 (NLT).

2 Then make me truly happy by agreeing wholeheartedly with each other, loving one another, and working together with one mind and purpose. 3 Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. 4 Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too.

5 You must have the same attitude that Christ Jesus had.

Yes. I value, honor, and praise Him when His gift for me becomes my entire life for Him. He gave Himself for Me.

6 Though he was God, he did not think of equality with God as something to cling to. 7 Instead, he gave up his divine privileges; he took the humble position of a slave and was born as a human being. When he appeared in human form, 8 he humbled himself in obedience to God and died a criminal’s death on a cross.

I choose to honor Him here and now. I give my life to you Lord today and forever. Be birthed in me, walk with me and bless me with your strength. I glorify you and I’m humble at your feet. You are Worthy of all that I am because I am nothing without You.

9 Therefore, God elevated him to the place of highest honor and gave him the name above all other names, 10 that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, 11 and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

