Skip to content

Missing family

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

Family is one of my struggles still, actually it’s the lack of.

My mom was a single mom and, well, with many male friends, none claiming to even try to fit the dad role or a ‘male’ role in my life. Unfortunately, my mom never thought it was important for me to have somebody around, even if he wasn’t my father. As long as the man didn’t ‘bother’ me, it was good enough for ‘her life’. This is all part of my past and for the most part is has been taken care of in counseling and the Lord has healed it.

The part I still struggle with is the lack of family. Not only was there that space during my childhood, but now mainly because of ministry, we connect mostly with the body of believers. Our relatives are far away and dispersed. We get lonely sometimes. Holidays and celebrations can be sad times. There is no net to fall back on, it feels like we’re on our own. No dad or mom or sisters to call and say, “I need you”.

I must say there are a few positives:

  • We have an opportunity to be what Christ wants us to be, no history, no approvals needed, no rejection
  • When people receive us or give something to us, we can honestly say it’s out of love, no hidden agendas to be worried about
  • We bond with the body of Christ!

By faith we have been made acceptable to God. And now, because of our Lord Jesus Christ, we live at peace with God. Romans 5:1

This verse is what I need to remember and believe. My acceptance is found in God. My peace, joy, strength is in him. The Lord is my Sheppard and I will not want, including my emotional needs.

The promises of the Lord are true. Every. Word. I believe this. I also believe through my struggles I need to trust the Lord with everything in me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

