Skip to content

Keeping Tabs on Myself

Thursday, January 21, 2010

My ‘New Year’s Resolution’ was to persevere more in reading of the Scripture and spending alone, quality time with God.

Another missionary friend and I are accountability buddies, we keep check on each other from time to time and support each other in prayer. Being truthful to myself, however, is most important, and that’s what this blog is for.

I have to say that reading the Scriptures has always been a delight for me, never boring, always a source of authority and direction for my life. I can’t explain how, but reading it recently though has been almost an addiction I don’t want to quit! Sounds funny, but it’s so true. I read, and want more. I know I read my ‘list of chapters’ but I want MORE!

Reading the Bible is not about what’s inside it but how it can change your life in your present, whenever that may be. When we read the Word we really don’t find any new verses, the same has been written years before. We are the ever-changing, hopefully for the better, who NEED direction to His will everyday.

Currently part of my reading is in Genesis and Acts. These 2 books have a certain complement.

People having extreme faith, direction from God in the most basic form, promises declared and come to full term!

You can’t help but get excited because you now God always wants MORE for us!

God, please guide our steps! We need you and can NOT live without you, I don’t want to. I want what you want of me! Period.

And the Lord said to Paul one night in a vision, “Do not be afraid, but go on speaking and do not be silent, for I am with you, and no one will attack you to harm you, for I have many in this city who are my people.” Act 18:910

More about spending quality alone time with God later…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Thursday, January 28, 2010 1:31 PM

    The following quote from the above piece really speaks to me:

    “Reading the Bible is not about what’s inside it but how it can change your life in your present, whenever that may be.”

    The Word truly is timeless and has so much to offer in this life — always relevant — always comforting.

Leave a Reply

