Skip to content

Alone, Quite, Quality Time

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

I am keeping tabs on myself concerning God priorities in my life. I first shared about reading Scripture and now I want to journal about my quite time with God.

Hubby and I were speaking yesterday about our situation here in Mexico, specifically our legal status. To cut it short, the way we see it currently unless God works out something different, we can not stay in Mexico too long. Our designated time is 2 years this is an aggressive time for the projects and goals we set. The first thing you might think is “well those are your goals and projects, maybe the Lord doesn’t have those goals”. True, we want to be obedient to everything in his plans including timing. However, we set those plans according to the Word he gave us coming here.
1. We are going to establish a school.
2. We will train pastors/ restore churches.
He gave us this plans. Although we sometimes feel pressured by time and sometimes ‘the lack of’, we know deep in our heart all will have to come together some how.

Having the conversation with hubby still fresh in my mind, we went to Bible study at the Jordan. During service I usually just sing along with them. Just so you get the picture, I don’t count this service as a refreshing time or a time when I am personally ministered by his Spirit. The flow isn’t there, the freedom isn’t there, and frankly I’m too distracted to focus. Maybe I’m wrong, but this is the way I set my mind so I don’t disappoint myself when “God doesn’t show up” or I don’t “feel” him.

Yesterday, however, I felt a heavy spirit. I couldn’t even sing along. I felt a need. And this is where I want to get at with this post. Intercession. I know I’ve said it before. Maybe I’m still in training by His Spirit, I don’t know.

I went to the back of the church and started to worship/pray walking around. This is my way for focusing. I need space and I need background music. Someday I want to be able to keep the connection even as I walk, talk, whatever.

During this time, very short but effective, I said something I’ve don’t think I’ve ever said to the Lord. Many times I’ve struggled with my “face time during ministry”. To explain, it’s not that I want “me, me, me” everywhere for people to see and give me attention – NO, for some reason I feel that I’m not doing enough and I want more, I want to see and experience more so I think “I” need to do ‘X’ thing. I hope that explains it.

This was my prayer – “Lord, use me, even if it’s just intercession (not thinking of this as less, but even if it’s just this and nothing else), if I don’t do anything else, break the strongholds and bring your Spirit.” So many times I see my faults, imperfections, lack of – right there and then he reminded me of Moses and Jeremiah – they both expressed the same fear and insecurity. It’s okay to tell God these things, out of this confession the Lord gave them the confidence they needed. I felt that yesterday. I felt his calling me, actually confirming my calling to intercede. To pray. To declare things into being.

Everything leads me to intercession.

Passing through the valley of weeping, they will make it a fountain; even the early rain covers with blessings. They go from strength to strength, being seen in Zion before God. Psalms 84:6-7

Key words ”passing through”. If we don’t pass through we are just another person going through another problem.  When we intercede we ARE passing through. We keep our faith. We are strengthened.  The Word says that we will make it to the fountain (life, rest, abundance, blessing). When we pass through, in the midst of struggle I will see God (Zion)! I will see Him! I will see His blessings, his justice, his righteousness, his love, his grace, his refuge, his power! ALL that he is! WOW!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Wednesday, January 27, 2010 12:56 PM

    Beautiful depiction of G-d’s small voice in your life — also the intercession. I am just learning about intercession. I have read a very good book about it that I need to read again and again.

    How does one find time in the day to do these things that need to be done to feed the spirit and connection with the Lord when there is home management, children, husband, other pressures? I am finding it difficult to manage.

  2. Thursday, January 28, 2010 6:31 AM

    HAVE A LOVELY DAY

  3. Thursday, January 28, 2010 11:21 AM

    Thank you! Be blessed!

  4. Thursday, January 28, 2010 11:34 AM

    Reading about it is good, it opens your mind to other experiences and awesomeness that HAS happened.

    Like fasting, intercession does take time and discipline. Actually even more so because you literally need heart, mind, and spirit in one connection with God. It isn’t routine for me yet, I hope one day it will be, I’m trying to at least once a week. I’m lucky that currently we have no children and are missionaries, so time is flexible. That’s why I desperately want to learn it this time since back in the States life was so hectic.

    I believe that if you’re fasting, at least eventually, intercession not only comes with the territory (as since in the Bible) but it will also come naturally, since you’re body and spirit are in one accord. Start small, devote 15 mins to intercede for your church, pastor, ministries. Apply grace. The days you can’t or don’t want to or something or someone comes in the way of – grace! With grace comes sincerity, although you couldn’t determined yourself to do it at some point and sincerely tell the Lord your willingness, he will take care of you.

    I sometimes still struggle with hubby and ministry. Just when I have everything set for my time, someone comes at the door or hubby needs something. I get frustrated, but perseverance is a lifesaver!

    Hopefully this wasn’t too much to read 🙂 Be blessed sister!

Leave a Reply

