Skip to content

Joseph Made Himself Known

Friday, January 29, 2010

Then Joseph could not control himself before all those who stood by him. He cried, “Make everyone go out from me.” So no one stayed with him when Joseph made himself known to his brothers. Gen 45:1 NLT

A boy was sold into slavery by his own brothers, his death faked; they allowed his father to think he was dead all this time. They stood there and watched him grieve his son, knowing that they had sold him into slavery, only to bow before him, second in command of all Egypt.

He had his share of hardship and as he was going through the hardship, I’m sure he very well did not understand, but he did keep his faith in God. He was sold to Potiphar. Potiphar’s wife tried to seduce him. He rejects and is wrongfully thrown into prison after having been sold into slavery in the first place. He spends years in the dungeon. God exalts him in the dungeon, so he leads the dungeon, if that is that much of exultation, but he is a leader. He can interpret dreams because God gives him the interpretation, so it isn’t long before he comes before Pharaoh and then he is exalted to second in command of all of Egypt.

The years that Joseph spent in the dungeon, he did not know that was going to happen. He just knew he was in the dungeon maybe for the rest of his life, and yet he continued to hope, continued to have faith, and eventually he did get out of the dungeon. And not just out of the dungeon back into the light, but was exalted to second in command of the kingdom. Then his brothers show up and they realize what is going on, and he reveals himself and he reveals: God sent me ahead to preserve life. What was meant for evil was actually for good.

Joseph weeps. Many times, while addressing his brothers, he tried to content himself, until finally he sends everyone out for some privacy. We read that everyone heard him weep, even Pharaoh.

Joseph’s story has captivated me on a personal level. Not only does it remind me of the healing the Lord has done in my life from my past but also challenges me on my present trials, giving me a hope, an assurance because my future, destiny, and purpose are in His hands.

Many years of pain, abandonment, resentment, and injustice Joseph could have had grudge. Or maybe after so many years have passed complete healing could have taken place. Time helps with forgiveness right? Neither of these or rather both of these occurred.

His brothers’ visit reminded Joseph of his wounds. After giving them a little of their own medicine, Joseph finally made himself, and his wounds, known. He wept with them and kissed. Joseph quickly reconciled with his family.

Nothing replaces the process and completion of healing and restoration. Nothing. No positions gained. No time passed. No new relationships made. I believe, God has appointed times and situations for our healing to come full circle. We need this. We shouldn’t run away from it or ignore it.

Heavenly Father, I am so grateful for your forgiveness and grace. Thank you for healing me, for showing me what’s deep inside me. I ask, Holy Spirit, that you come. Increase my faith. Help me to understand that you know where I should go and you are here to comfort and guide me on that path. Help us, Lord, to listen, to still the noise and seek you first and your righteousness. I pray this in the name of Jesus. Amen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tuesday, February 2, 2010 4:01 PM

    I have always loved the story of Joseph and I can’t tell you HOW many times the part about “what you meant for evil, G-d meant for good” has played out in my life. When I have suffered and been crushed by someone else’s hand, G-d has always turned it around and made it something wonderful for me. It amazes me every time.

Leave a Reply

