Skip to content

In the journey of depending on my Heavenly Father

Saturday, February 20, 2010

Knowing that we will be leaving Mexico in a few months has my mind thinking and making observations on my time and what I’ve learned here.

In my journey to love and obey God above all things, one of my biggest struggles has been to depend on him through everything. This has been the greatest challenge and surprisingly a blessing while living in Mexico. My faith and dependency on the Lord became my survival.

I have no ‘church body’ as a cushion. Yes, I know people are praying for me and our home church loves us and support us in many ways. I’m talking about the fellowship and direct relationship with the body. Truly, I did not realize the impact until living this as a reality.

It’s amazing to know God and love him when there is nothing or no one around you. You truly understand the vertical relationship in the most intimate way.

It’s incredible to be in the fellowship of worshipers, as I often recall in our home church services, the strength and force created by the unison of our hearts draws God and His glory among us. Who can resist! Now, try doing that alone in your house in a town filled with religion, a region with the unawareness that there is more, in a country where “the Lord is not their God”. It’s not impossible, it’s not difficult, it just takes more discipline – and that is where I’ve grown! Thank you Jesus! I’ve survived this long! No joke. When reality hit me here I thought, “Lord how will I make it?” God has been good and FAITHFUL! Once again, he has shown me his grace, his everlasting love, his immense power! Where principalities rule – He shows up! Yep, That’s my GOD! Can you dig it? 🙂

How great is the goodness you have stored up for those who fear you.
You lavish it on those who come to you for protection, blessing them before the watching world.
You hide them in the shelter of your presence, safe from those who conspire against them.
You shelter them in your presence, far from accusing tongues.
Praise the Lord, for he has shown me the wonders of his unfailing love. He kept me safe when my city was under attack. In panic I cried out, “I am cut off from the Lord!”
But you heard my cry for mercy and answered my call for help.
Love the Lord, all you godly ones! For the Lord protects those who are loyal to him, but he harshly punishes the arrogant.
So be strong and courageous, all you who put your hope in the Lord! -Psalm 31:19-24

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

