Skip to content

Far away from home

Thursday, February 25, 2010

Friday comes and goes. Saturday comes and goes. And so on. I don’t spend time with my Father like I would like to. I think to myself, “Oh my ___ have passed and I haven’t had a moment to be by myself with Him”.

Although overall I’ve had better discipline to make time with him since coming to Mexico, I still feel like I’m lacking. When is it normal to feel that hunger and thrist to come to his presence? Am I overreacting? Can I live in his presence 24/7?

I found this Psalm that really expresses my soul:

Psalms 61:1-8 GNB
1 Hear my cry, O God; listen to my prayer!
2 In despair and far from home I call to you! Take me to a safe refuge,
3 for you are my protector, my strong defense against my enemies.
4 Let me live in your sanctuary all my life; let me find safety under your wings.
5 You have heard my promises, O God, and you have given me what belongs to those who honor you.
6 Add many years to the king’s life; let him live on and on!
7 May he rule forever in your presence, O God; protect him with your constant love and faithfulness.
8 So I will always sing praises to you, as I offer you daily what I have promised.

Yes, that’s exactly how I feel, far away from home, although I know I’m really not. I’m as close as saying, “Abba Father”! Oh Father your constant love and faithfulness! Yes, they protect me even from myself!

The psalmist went daily to the sanctuary, he gave the Lord every day what he promised him. I read the Word and pray every day and it’s not enough. Not because someone told me, or my religion requires it but because my soul thirst MORE of Him and a DEEPER connection with Him.

Oh Father how I need you. I feel so empty without you. I know you’re not far and I know you show me your love everyday. Jesus I’m so desperate to be in the fullness that you want me to be. I know you want more of me. I know you desire me. I love you Lord. Father I ask that every moment I have to be with you be a time of intimacy and a deep connection with you. Father I open my heart to you, I come just as I am. I ask forgiveness of all my sin and I want no obstacle between you and I. Fill me with your love, tabernacle with me oh God. I am yours.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

