Skip to content

Comparing life, Mexico vs. USA

Friday, June 11, 2010

Please don’t fill my mind with your useless chatter and pointless distress. The year I spent in Mexico in many ways purified me.

I didn’t watch any news. If I wanted to know what was going on I would go online and get a glimpse of headlines. That was it. No opinions. No alterations.

I did not watch any commercials. No one was offering me a way out of debt or convincing me to buy the latest of whatever or something I didn’t need.

My finances were definite. We definitely had money for the next day, week, or month or we were definitely expecting a miracle from God.

My relationships were fed on life experiences. No virtual hugs or Facebook hearts and smiles (insert – I’m a FB junkie). The truth is there’s nothing like the real thing!

My meals were 98% fresh and nutritious versus the 10% here. Chickens were killed daily and the produce was 99% from local farmers.

How about my intimacy with God? I had it or I didn’t. Simple, I like simple.

I didn’t depend on any church service. I know many people were covering us in prayer and we also had people we counted for support but in the end it was me and God. No religious bickering. No fake charlatans.

So please this system we call the American life, don’t make me a victim of credit scores, canned foods, and concaved minds.

I’m grateful to enjoy many aspects of this life; I just think the price tag is unnecessary.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Saturday, June 12, 2010 2:55 PM

    It won’t if you don’t let it. You choose. You don’t have to allow the “American life” to make you a victim. Right? Just don’t let it.

    Simple. Just like you like it.

    😉

  2. Sunday, June 13, 2010 8:40 PM

    living in Costa Rica has been a huge blessing for us. Like Mexico, our food and produce is fresh, even though we have the fast food chains here which we choose not to go to. We have enjoyed our life here, living simple and not complicating things.
    Intimacy with our Lord has increased, which is the most important thing in our lives.
    Seems that you are going through culture shock all over again!
    Blessings

  3. Sunday, June 13, 2010 9:55 PM

    @ Mary – I know but it’s so hard. I know that is what the Lord wants to teach me, to keep everything I learned.

  4. Sunday, June 13, 2010 9:59 PM

    @ Yvette, yes it is actually.
    I miss my time with God in Mexico, even walking to the store was so exciting. It was like meeting your boyfriend who was outside waiting for you, even for just a couple of minutes you got to talk to him alone, it was worth it and so exciting!
    I know He is with me now, just gotta adapt, again! 🙂

  5. Kass permalink
    Monday, June 21, 2010 2:12 PM

    Like. 🙂

Leave a Reply

