Skip to content

Home is Where the Heart is

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Maybe it’s a cliché to you, maybe you’ve heard it a thousand times and the meaning lost its impression, maybe you don’t know what it means to feel out of place (never home).

Not me.

I’ve been trying to find ‘home’ for a long time. I grew up with my mom and almost no nearby relatives. It seems like we constantly moved from room to room in a busy NY neighborhood with many people around but no real relationships.

One of the reasons I first started going to church was for the ‘at-home’ feeling. I was looking for people who accepted me, loved me, took care of me, and protected me in a way that was NOT done at home. I gave my heart to God and began a long process in the restoration of my soul and heart.

I married and ministry became an important focus on our life (God has 1st place). Again, we’ve moved constantly (every 2-4 yrs) planting churches and following God. We, servants of the Lord, will never regret obeying His word but I do have observations of the road taken. Every time the Lord says, “Go, move”, I say, “Oh Lord, I was just getting the hang of this place, or, I really like these people, or, we were just getting established (financially).” All of that can be true but the underlying truth is that I was trying to find and keep home.

Counting Mexico, we have not had a place to call our own for 15 months. That’s a long time to sleep in a bed that’s not yours, to arrange your things again and again, to cook in a kitchen that’s not yours (the cooks/wives will get that), and to make new friends.

His presence makes all the difference.

During worship one day I felt Holy Spirit say to me in the most casual way. Yes, I said casual, nothing fancy or over the top supernatural. Just like if he was a friend sitting next to me making a wise suggestion. His words were, “In His presence you are at home”.

To me, these words, like the truth that they are, set me free! Every time I set at alter before him with my praise and worship, I’m AT home. How awesome God! I’m mobile! LOL. Having that said, I know this, my human self will always want to be comfortable. That’s when I will tell myself, “Child of God, humble before the Lord who takes care of you, you have all that you need in Him!”

And….that’s my victory!

You are a hiding place for me; you preserve me from trouble; you surround me with shouts of deliverance. Selah. Psalms 32:7 ESV

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

